Reviews



Very nice and clean place, bigger than expected - Rating 5/5

The place is very easy to find and to reach with busses. The room was bigger than expected, it looked smaller at the Photos. Everyday it was cleaned and the owner is very friendly

Reviewer:Bosa S | Mon 16th Mar 2020 | 3 months ago


Very good value for money! - Rating 4/5

Very good value for money. Friendly staff and clean room.

Reviewer:Peter N | Tue 10th Mar 2020 | 3 months ago


Excellent value - Rating 4/5

Amazing value - room of my own with toilet and shower plus TV and tea making facilities, hairdryer, iron - everything I needed. Good bus service nearby and not far from city centre.

Reviewer:Alison V | Fri 6th Mar 2020 | 3 months ago


What a nice guest house! - Rating 5/5

Had a fabulous stay at the Thisle Guest House. My room was spacious, clean, warm with a nice view on the parc Leith links. You could check in and out by yourself, as easy as winking. Can recommend the Guest House by all means, will return for sure

Reviewer:Martin L | Thu 5th Mar 2020 | 3 months ago


Comfortable and affordable - Rating 5/5

I would definitely book here again, it is comfortable and clean, if a safe room in an affordable place is what you are looking for. I enjoyed the walk in to the city centre but the bus stop is right outside if you want to take the bus.

Reviewer:Catherine B | Sun 1st Mar 2020 | 3 months ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Having opted for an inexpensive stay, I was happy to use the bathroom facilities one stair up. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet and the guest house was close to the city centre with a bus stop nearby.

Reviewer:Alison V | Fri 28th Feb 2020 | 3 months ago


Good value, comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

We were very happy with the room- small but comfortable.clean and very adequate for our stay. Ensuite small but absolutely fine. Really grateful for kettle and tea facilities. Didn't watch TV but good to have. Arrangements for arriving/departing good. Location very good. Easy walk to city centre or plenty of buses. Our room very quiet. Bit warm for us and opened window but not a problem and would suit others. Would stay again or recommend.Good value. Thank you.

Reviewer:Francesca B | Tue 25th Feb 2020 | 3 months ago


Is was really cozy, clean and nice.- Rating 5/5

The place was cozy, right next to a beautiful park with a bus station right outside.

Reviewer:BOGDAN A | Wed 19th Feb 2020 | 3 months ago


Six nations trip - Rating 5/5

Ticked the box for what we needed. Basic but very clean. Room 7 was a box room with no heating so avoid that one.

Reviewer:David R | Mon 10th Feb 2020 | 4 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

I had a great stay, very comfy bed, very clean, close to public transport...lovely area.

Reviewer:Tatjana Z | Thu 6th Feb 2020 | 4 months ago


Fantastic!- Rating 5/5

My stay was very comfortable and enjoyable.Everything was perfect. Really nice hotel, super clean, great location, managers were very kind.Room was spotless and bed very comfortable, service was perfect. A kettle for making coffee and tea, a hairdryer and a TV were available in the room (I really appreciated).The guest house is very close to the bus stop (1 min walk - 20 mins bus ride to the city centre), close to the sea (15-20 min walk),if you wish, it is also very pleasant to take a walk to the city centre (25-30min).Leith is a very lively and pleasant residential district, in front of the guest house there's also a beautiful park.

Reviewer:Marie Christine S | Sat 18th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago


Great place and location - Rating 5/5

Very good experience, great place and location. Nice and quiet next to the park and close to local amenities.

Reviewer:Marc B | Thu 16th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago


Thistle Guest house - Rating 4/5

Loved the fact there was had soup, shower gel, iron and board and hairdryer. Tea, coffee and kettle.Room was fine for me, for the cost.location was great and that I could park was brilliant.I would ask for a room at the back next time as the traffickept me awake.

Reviewer:Lorraina C | Sat 11th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago


Fine - Rating 5/5

Fine,i booked again for next week.

Reviewer:James W | Sat 11th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago


Warm, quiet and good value. - Rating 4/5

A nice room in terrace house. Good transport links on the doorstep with regular buses to city centre. It's not luxury, although the design of my bed was quite exotic! At 30 GBP in January it was excellent value.

Reviewer:Michael D | Fri 10th Jan 2020 | 5 months ago


Good - Rating 5/5

This guest house was nice, the family room was cold as the floor was tiles but we were only there over night. Easy to get to from the centre by bus or taxi. The room upstairs had very squeeky floor boards so woke me up. Its the first guest house that had the family room on the bottom floor which was good having a pushchair.some of the decor could do with updating but didn't effect my stay.

Reviewer:lesley c | Mon 2nd Dec 2019 | 6 months ago


Thistle stay - Rating 5/5

Room was warm and cosy bed very soft and confy

Reviewer:Susan D | Thu 28th Nov 2019 | 6 months ago


Fantastic Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Fantastic Accommodation for the price.Lovely big room, Very comfortable bedHad a very warm and cosy night there.A big THANK YOU to the Manager.Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Ragini Fiona L | Sat 16th Nov 2019 | 7 months ago


Currently with Merkle Analytics as solution architect(Data Engineer) on short term contract setting up data platform on azure cloud for their end client.Contract is ending next week and looking forw - Rating 4/5

value for money.good location.clean and have every thing needed for a short stay.

Reviewer:BALAJEE L | Thu 14th Nov 2019 | 7 months ago


Bardzo dobry - Rating 5/5

Wszystko super, pokoje czyste, sprz?tane codziennie, pokój posiada? niezb?dne udogodnienia, w?a?ciciel kontaktowy.

Reviewer:Izabela O | Sun 10th Nov 2019 | 7 months ago


Great value - Rating 5/5

Regular visitor for work, good location and great value

Reviewer:Paul C | Mon 28th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Fanastic - Rating 5/5

Staying there with my best friend for mini break. Lovely hotel and room was very clean and sleep comfy. Would go back there again some day.

Reviewer:Heather W | Thu 26th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Had a great stay. I couldn't get the television to work and missed not having a biscuit.

Reviewer:james w | Tue 24th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Great value for money- Rating 5/5

Good location and quiet area. The guest house is nice and reasonably clean. Check in and out process is very convenient.Thank you for accommodating us.

Reviewer:Adam N | Sun 15th Sep 2019 | 9 months ago


Does what it says on the tin- Rating 4/5

I'm glad that I booked this as my accommodation. On arrival we met a friendly member of staff who gave us all the information we needed. The room was clean and airy and more than adequate. The bathroom was fine for our needs and there was lots of hot water and towels. The guest house is located next to a park and is on a bus route which makes it very convenient. It provides excellent value for money and I would stay again

Reviewer:David J | Wed 28th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Close to town - Rating 4/5

A short bus ride into Princes Street, quiet and clean room. Bathroom quite small but ok. Great block out shutters on windows! Handy for getting in and out of the Fringe Festival.

Reviewer:Shannon B | Thu 8th Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Clean - Rating 4/5

Clean and tidy. Nice and quiet.Great location.Defiantly stay again

Reviewer:Joeann F | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Simple, clean, functional rooms at an excellent price- Rating 4/5

Simple, clean, functional rooms at an excellent price and with good bus links to city centre.Mattresses could do with an upgrade but all in all very good value for money

Reviewer:ALISTAIR R | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


A Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Very good location opposite a parkThe rooms were quite spacious and included Television and tea making facilitiesThe free WIFI worked wellCheck in procss was easyGood value for money

Reviewer:Michael W | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 11 months ago


Friendly place - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, great value.

Reviewer:Paul C | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 1 year ago


Great location - Rating 4/5

Nice &clean/comfortable.Great value

Reviewer:Gulfraz Y | Fri 31st May 2019 | 1 year ago


κιμωνας - Rating 4/5

Η διαμονή μας στο Edinburgh Thistle Guest House ήταν πολύ καλή για τρεις μέρες που μείναμε. Μπορείς να φθάσεις στο Ξενοδοχείο παίρνοντας το Λεωφορείο από το σταθμό του τρένου Waverley station που σε αφήνει το Λεωφορείο το Αεροδρόμιο Airlink bus 100 και από εκεί για να πας στο Ξενοδοχείο παίρνεις το bus 25 και κατεβαίνεις στην 11η στάση με όνομα Someset place. Από τον οδηγό παίρνεις εισιτήρια μιας (1) μέρας που κοστίζει 4 λίρες. Κοντά στο Ξενοδοχείο υπάρχει super market tesco αλλάκαι lidl.

Reviewer:KIMON G | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 1 year ago


pleasant and quiet - Rating 3/5

The facilities are very limited but my stay was pleasant and quiet. My room was very clean and I felt secure.

Reviewer:Ced R | Sat 18th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Klein, aber nett - Rating 4/5

Klein, sehr nett. Gutes Preis-Leistungs- Verhältnis. Schöne Lage doppelt am Park, gute Busverbindung in alle Richtungen. Danke schön.

Reviewer:Andreas L | Wed 8th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh Thistle - Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money!

Reviewer:Peter T | Sun 5th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Clean, convenient and comfortable"Good value.

Reviewer:Richard S | Sun 5th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Value for Money !! - Rating 4/5

For the money paid this wee place was excellent !! I'd recommend it if you were driving as parking was easy and you could grab a bus from right outside the door to anywhere in Edinburgh.Instructions from the owner were easy to follow to gain entry and room was adequate although small everything was provided for. I would stay again if I was visiting Edinburgh, it's not the Ritz but you ain't paying Ritz prices. My only complaint was that the lampshades in the hall needed dusting ... if I'd stayed longer I'd have done it !!

Reviewer:liz b | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Hotel - Rating 5/5

Really comfortable, clean, and accessible to attractions in Leith.

Reviewer:John D | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Best choice - Rating 5/5

The Guest house its a clean perfect place, nearby a park and a bus station.

Reviewer:colceru c | Wed 27th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

cet hôtel est superbe, bon marché, confortable, cosy et bien placé.

Reviewer:alexis m | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Regular guest - Rating 5/5

Always clean and tidy, no complaints ever.

Reviewer:Paul C | Sat 9th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Stay away (work) - Rating 5/5

Hassle free booking clean tidy .easy to fine parking

Reviewer:Duncan H | Sat 9th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Ok it may not be the most luxurious place but you get what you pay for and actually more. I had a lock on my door, clear instructions, a clean bed, a sink, two mirrors, ironing board and iron, hairdryer, desk and only paid £36 for two nights stay. Bus number 25 literally outside the property will take you to center in 10 mins. What else would I want? And the shared bathroom was always kept clean.

Reviewer:Halle Y | Fri 1st Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Nice guest house - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and very good service!

Reviewer:chung c | Wed 16th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Basic but decent - Rating 4/5

Depends on what you want but it clean decent location it was only a fan heater in the room qhich made tje heat a bit difficult to regulate roasting or freezing but considering the price it was fine.

Reviewer:howard d | Sat 29th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation lovely warm comfortable roomhas everything you need iron hairdryer kettle TV shower views towels high quality bedding high standards of cleaning hassle free check in and out and loads of information in the book

Reviewer:Fiona M | Fri 21st Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation lovely warm comfortable roomhas everything you need iron hairdryer kettle TV shower views towels high quality bedding high standards of cleaning hassle free check in and out and loads of information in the book

Reviewer:Fiona M | Fri 21st Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Very good accommodation and very friendly staff!

Reviewer:Alexia S | Thu 20th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Will definitely stay again.- Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay here. Room was clean &beds were comfortable. It’s quite close to city centre &theirs plenty of parking on street. Theirs bus stops right outside too. The only down side is, they should put thicker bedding on now it’s winter.

Reviewer:Michelle L | Mon 26th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Thistle - Rating 4/5

Good accomadation at a reasonble price

Reviewer:anthony b | Sat 24th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay this being my 5 time perfect location top marks for high standard of cleaning comfy beds warm rooms hot showers always enjoy my stay here easy check in and out I needed extra towels sent email at 5am got towels no problems highly recommend place to stay

Reviewer:Fiona M | Fri 23rd Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Quiet and pleasant - Rating 5/5

Always well organised and clean, close to the Newkirkgate shopping centre and a short bus ride to Princes street.

Reviewer:Gordon Y | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Good and clean room. - Rating 5/5

Quite and nice stay,good and clean room.

Reviewer:Brigita G | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Good and clean room. - Rating 5/5

Quite and nice stay,good and clean room.

Reviewer:Brigita G | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Good and clean room. - Rating 5/5

Quite and nice stay,good and clean room.

Reviewer:Brigita G | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


3 nights around conference time. Nice area and comfortable place.- Rating 4/5

I enjoyed staying in leith even though its about 3 miles from city centre. Easy to get buses in and you have bonus of being near the waterfront as well as a nice green right opposite the hotel if you're into morning runs! Room was comfortable. My neighbour next door was a bit noisy but that's no fault of the hotel!

Reviewer:Ashtin D | Sat 10th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Visit to edenbourgh - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my stay.room very good in a quiet area good transport links.and close to shops.eat at Weatherspoons close by.Thank you and hope tortn soon.

Reviewer:Sean M | Fri 9th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Night away - Rating 5/5

We booked at last minute for an impromptu night in Edinburgh, the guest house was fantastic, really clean and well looked after and in a beautiful location overlooking big park, will definitely be back soon for another stay and would recommend to friends and family

Reviewer:Graham S | Tue 6th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable - Rating 4/5

Dear, we have been very comfortable and we hope to return one day. Thanks for your hospitality.Regards

Reviewer:Fernando R | Wed 24th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Quiet and comfortable and a good location. - Rating 5/5

I have never had any complaints about ED Thistle. Everything is always in order and the rooms are comfortable and warm.Leith walk and the links shopping centre are close by and a short bus trip up Leith walk will take you to the heart of the city.

Reviewer:Gordon Y | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Very nice!- Rating 4/5

It was a very nice guest house private bathroom which was a bonus only problem was, checkout was far to early even though I had asked for a longer checkout and I would of payed extra as it was my first night with my new husband married and we wanted a lie in but we had to get up at 9:40 to be out for 10. Hearing was on the whole time which was good but it was on during the night aswell and it was far to hot. And tv was far to small wasn’t good for my eyesight.

Reviewer:Bobbie M | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Value for money - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for one night.The room was on the ground floor, it was very clean and well presented.The guest house is ideally situated for the playhouse and the city centre, we walked to both.If you are looking for value for money accomodation, parking and good location the Thistle is ideal, we plan to come back for some christmas shopping. The only thing i woukd say is that we didnt have enough towels.

Reviewer:Michelle H | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Decent - Rating 4/5

Decent accommodation for a really good price. Bed was a bit springy but all in all it was fine.

Reviewer:Nicholas M | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Decent - Rating 4/5

Decent accommodation for a really good price. Bed was a bit springy but all in all it was fine.

Reviewer:Nicholas M | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Joli petit etablissement - Rating 4/5

Chambre sympathique et atypique pas loin du centre-ville, et avec des pubs bien sympathuques

Reviewer:DIDIER ETCHART DIT O | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Absolutely satisfied- Rating 5/5

This is a fantastic cottage, perfectly situated for an easy walk into the city.It is modern and well equipped. The bonus was having a washing machine and free parking.Our host was very welcoming and helpful.Without a doubt, I can recommend this accommodation!

Reviewer:Neil P | Sat 1st Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Super ! - Rating 5/5

Ich habe mich im Thistle Guest House sehr wohl gefühlt ! Es befindet sich in einer sehr ruhigen Lage und nur wenige Meter von einer Bushaltestelle entfernt. Das Zimmer und Bad waren immer sauber, Tee und Kaffee wurden jeden Tag neu aufgefüllt. Einfach super !

Reviewer:Ursula M | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Cosy little place, great communication with staff and easy to work with.

Reviewer:Alana G | Sat 4th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


A Nice stay at Edinburgh Thistle - Rating 4/5

The guest house is in a good location opposite a parkThe bedroom was quite spaciousCheck in process very easy as lots of information was sent to me before my staygood value for money

Reviewer:Michael W | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


VERY N ICE!❤️ - Rating 5/5

閑静な住宅街で広々とした公園前にあります。エジンバラ駅(ウェバリー駅)から少し歩いてバスたな乗れば、ゲストハウスの近くまでバスで行く事が出来ます。私は個室どしたが、何でも揃っていたので助かったのと、リーズナブルだった。毎日お茶を沸かして、コーヒーやお茶を自室でいただきました。個室で素敵でしたよ。

Reviewer:Yoshimi I | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh Thistle - Rating 5/5

Perfect for my needs which were a comfortable bed with spotless laundry and clean room. Shower room across the landing - no problem.Although I believe it was full, it was very quiet and ideally located.Amazing value.

Reviewer:Richard S | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Good - Rating 5/5

It was good. Thank J

Reviewer:Jaroslav H | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Edinburgh- Rating 5/5

Great value for money, handy for city.

Reviewer:Pat B | Fri 22nd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Clean, comfortable and well organized. - Rating 5/5

I've stayed here quiet a few times due to work commitments. Its efficiently organised from booking and payment to building entry and room.I have no doubts at all that i will be back here in the future.

Reviewer:Gordon Y | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 2 years ago


Each room is different- Rating 4/5

So I stayed here more than once. Its definitely worth the money and smooth when it comes to checking in and out. It not luxurious or anything but reasonably quiet and comfortable.

Reviewer:Radoslaw M | Wed 30th May 2018 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Go9d clean accomodation can walk to edinburgh but bus stop out side.

Reviewer:Lisa l | Mon 21st May 2018 | 2 years ago


Pleasant and clean accommodation - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant environment, pleasant and willing lady, tasty breakfast

Reviewer:Lenka J | Wed 16th May 2018 | 2 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Great value for a basic guest house. Spotlessly clean, comfy beds and beautiful rooms.TV, wi-fi tea and coffee and hair dryer all provided with the room.Bathroom facilities are shared but excellent and clean.Very happy to recommend

Reviewer:Sarah M | Fri 4th May 2018 | 2 years ago


Voyage en famille - Rating 5/5

Parfait pour une famille...pas trop loin du centre 5/10 mn en voiture..chambre tres propre et silencieuse... a des places dispo pour se garer...a recommander

Reviewer:MYRIAM C | Wed 2nd May 2018 | 2 years ago


Good value - Rating 5/5

Exactly what I needed for one night stay for work. No fuss check in and out, clean room with coffee making facility, towel, tv, WiFi, wash basin, very reasonably priced. Good value for money

Reviewer:Cath E | Sat 28th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Second time booking here. - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, clean and convenient to local transportation. Very basic and inexpensive, exactly what I require.

Reviewer:Janet B | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


one night stop in edinborough - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable one night stop. all very well organised and helpful

Reviewer:Martine C | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Excellent value for money - Rating 5/5

Great price and we had everything we needed.Good location as attending wedding at Leith Registry Office.Easy to get into Edinburgh too

Reviewer:Louise W | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


bella thistle guest house - Rating 5/5

1 of the best guesthouses around wifi good bed comfy

Reviewer:giuseppe de p | Mon 16th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Edinburgh Thistle Guest House- Rating 4/5

Very nice accommodation, view to the park. Location is quite far from centre but there is a good bus connection (12 and 25). Room was nice and tidy, with own bathroom.

Reviewer:Radka K | Fri 23rd Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Norm - Rating 5/5

Very nice stay thank you ,

Reviewer:Norman C | Fri 16th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Calidad precio muy buena - Rating 5/5

Habitacion muy limpia. Lo recomendamos

Reviewer:sara martin del h | Sun 11th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


REVIEW - Rating 4/5

Room was small but adeqit for the stay.Ver comfortable bed very quiet and clean.Good value for money

Reviewer:Andrew P | Wed 27th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


really good. beautiful and confortable.- Rating 5/5

good experience, without problems.

Reviewer:Brayan T | Mon 25th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice room with good transport links. - Rating 4/5

Nice room and very charming old building. Nice view from the room, close to bus stop to city centre, local tesco. Very nice.

Reviewer:Sharon S | Sat 23rd Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Guests - Rating 4/5

I had a great time in Edinburgh and Edinburgh Thistle guest house was suitible for us. Very local to shops and close by town centre.Didnt like signs eveywhere that state plenty charges of using other beds pillow, toilet and late arrival charge. Nobody can control delayed flights etc... £5 fine!You felt restricted - apart from that, everything was fine. Thank you.

Reviewer:David M | Fri 15th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Good stay. - Rating 4/5

2nd stay at this Guest house...good accommodation,very quiet and easy access when owner was not on premises. Will be staying again next year. City centre bus route just outside hotel.

Reviewer:Anita C | Thu 14th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


vacaciones - Rating 5/5

un lugar tranquilo u acojedor personal amable sin lujos pero todo limpio autobus al centro en la puerta y un gran parke frente a la casa cerca del puerto

Reviewer:alfredo j | Sat 9th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Everything you need - Rating 5/5

The room was spotless, warm and everything you would require was provided.Would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Muriel S | Sat 11th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation have stayed few time now can't find any faults with ''this placeit's always clean warm fresh and welcoming experience easy to find bus stops outside great stop for leith and city centre

Reviewer:Fiona M | Thu 9th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

I've stayed here loads of times this year and it's excellent place 100% spotless bright welcome when you arrive in your room very comfortable beds hot running showers I just love staying hear it's easy to find great views over leith links bus stops outside loads free parking spaces handy for city centre am going back in December

Reviewer:Fiona M | Wed 8th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Great value- Rating 5/5

Good room, great location.

Reviewer:PAUL C | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent room - Rating 5/5

Lovely room with very comfortable bed and very reasonably priced too. Will def stay here again

Reviewer:Valerie L | Tue 17th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Good - Rating 5/5

Good.Excellent !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer:Thierry L | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Very good value - Rating 4/5

Basic guest house but value for money is very good

Reviewer:matthew c | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


does what it says on the tin - Rating 5/5

does what it says on the tin, flexible check-in was great, shower in room not great but the one in the hall is fine, perfect for a couple nights in Leith if you don't plan to spend much time in hotel, cheers!

Reviewer:Robert B | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Great hotel- Rating 5/5

Very happy with this hotel, was very clean &spacious. Will definitely stay again on my next visit to Edinburgh, close to city centre and playhouse, their was 5 ladies in a room with a double bed and 3 singles would take my family also, very quiet in the rooms also

Reviewer:Nicola C | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Good location - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfortable.Check in hassle free.

Reviewer:alison m | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Muy cómodo - Rating 5/5

Muy limpio, cómodo. Calefacción en habitacion y wc. Baño bien equipado. Volveria seguro!

Reviewer:Natividad J | Thu 14th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Basic acoommodation at sensible price - Rating 4/5

Good location in Leith with basic facilities at good price - but remember to meet all conditions for express check-in.

Reviewer:Tim W | Tue 1st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Covenient, economic, well connected - Rating 4/5

Briiliantly convenient- well- served by local buses. Small comfortable ensuite room. Helpful staff. Excellent price.

Reviewer:Sarah Elizabeth K | Sat 22nd Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Sehr großes Zimmer, sauber, gut zu erreichen - Rating 4/5

+) Sehr großes Zimmer, viel Gelass, sauber, Tee auf dem Zimmer zur freien Bedienung, sehr gute Busanbindung (ca. 15 Min. umsteigefrei zum Bf. Waverly). Gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis für Edinburgher Preisniveau.-) Check-In nach 20 Uhr wird mit 5 Pfund (!!) in Rechnung gestellt, wurde mir auf Nachfrage allerdings erlassen. Nur eine einzige Dusche fürs ganze Haus, aber sehr gepflegt. Kein Frühstück.

Reviewer:Alexander L | Wed 19th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Pleasant and very affordable - Rating 5/5

I was really happy to find this guesthouse at such a short notice before our morning flights. It is situated in a reasonable distance from the city centre, and has a very good connection with Edinburgh centre and Airport. apparently, bus 100 which passes the guesthouse, goes to the airport. Otherwise, this place is very tidy and good looking;the single room with shared bathroom we stayed in was rather small, but I was happy with the price. Good selection of coffee/tea bags was provided in the room. The shared bathroom was spotless and well equiped.

Reviewer:Ekaterina V | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Very pleasant stay at Edinburgh Thistle guest house - Rating 5/5

We had a great experience with Edinburgh Thistle guest house. The room was very nice, clean and cosy. It came with everything we needed.The location is also superb with a park in front and the bus station a few yards away.Thank you for having us and hope to see you soon.

Reviewer:Claudiu G | Sun 16th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Edinburgh Thistle Guest House - Rating 4/5

Lovely guest house, clean and tidy. So handy for bus stops into the city centre. would stay again.

Reviewer:Marie J | Sun 2nd Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Exelent,room spotless,comfy bed,lots of nice extras iron,iron bord,heater for when it gets chilly,tea and coffe and kettle,lots of information of things to see and do,great value highly recomended would defently stay again

Reviewer:Annette f | Fri 30th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Visiting- Rating 4/5

Clean and basic single roomOnly downfall there is no staff around on arrival.

Reviewer:Alexander M | Thu 15th Jun 2017 | 3 years ago


does what it says on the tin - Rating 4/5

I was looking for a no frills room for a good price in walking distance from the city centre and without breakfast. I got all that. The room was simple and clean. The bathroom was the only drawback as it had to be shared and both mornings I had to wait my turn. Luckily the other guests weren't dirty people as that is the main problem with a shared bathroom. I never saw the owner of the guest house and my keys were waiting for me when I arrived and I left them in the letter box when I left. All I needed was a place to stay at night and I got just that. Would gladly stay here again

Reviewer:Jorgen H | Thu 15th Jun 2017 | 3 years ago


good - Rating 4/5

The room was small but cosy with everything I needed including a lamp for reading and hairdryer;) The bathroom was clean but there were problems with toilets flush ;(Also I think that free paper maps should include the area of the Thistle Guest House ;)

Reviewer:Ewa F | Tue 13th Jun 2017 | 3 years ago


Cleanand modern- Rating 5/5

I have arrived too late at the night around 3pm but he left me instructions how to get in and keys were ready for me in envelope ,liked that .The stay us so clean ,modern and amazing location.I think will use it againThanks

Reviewer:hussam a | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 3 years ago


Well located for Marathon- Rating 4/5

I stayed here to run the Edinburgh Marathon and it was good value for money in a location close to the start line in Regent Road. The management were friendly and the room was clean with a well connected TV (watched FA cup final on it) and iron and ironing board. Very good restaurant a 3 minute walk away - Bijou Bistro - and close to other bars, eateries and for those on a budget supermarkets. It's about 40 minutes walk to Edinburgh Waverley station and 25 minutes walk to HMS Britannia but there is plenty of Edinburgh to be seen in between. I enjoyed my stay but would prefer to book a room with a bathroom next time rather than sharing.

Reviewer:Craig R | Tue 30th May 2017 | 3 years ago


Just perfect - Rating 5/5

I have stayed there for 9 days.Everything was perfect. Clean, quiet, very Wellington comunicated with the bus 25 to the centre. Awesome views through the window. I will come back there for dure. Quality/price wonderful.

Reviewer:BLANCA M | Wed 12th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


Cheap with a view - Rating 4/5

Goods value for money for a very small room, lovely park opposite.Just right for one night.

Reviewer:Clive D | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


very clean room with all necessary facilities - Rating 4/5

The room we lived in was big and carpeted. The temperature was well-maintained. The private bathroom was slightly small but ok. However the exhaust needs to work a little more aggressively. Otherwise a very comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Nayantara K | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 4/5

Great place to stay.Lovely room.No noise or disruption.Take your own toiletries (soap etc).

Reviewer:Lyndsay M | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


Thistle - Rating 4/5

Nice guest house ideally situated for easy transport to city centre and amenities in Leith. Would recommend.

Reviewer:brian d | Mon 27th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago


mr f scully - Rating 5/5

was please with room 1b a spacious bedroom and quiet as being at the back of building also was handy for bus stops into the city will try to come again and tell friends bestregardsmr fredscullyblackpool

Reviewer:mr Fred S | Fri 24th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago


Cozy place - Rating 4/5

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I found it very cozy and cleaned.A little bit of noises in the night but that's guests fault who don 't have any respect .

Reviewer:Floriana T | Thu 16th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago


Dbrolm - Rating 5/5

Nice and clean room. Good price :)

Reviewer:Anna S | Mon 13th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago


Great Place - Rating 5/5

perfect bolt hole for the single traveller with super facilities &local amenities on hand.

Reviewer:John B | Mon 6th Feb 2017 | 3 years ago


Night out in Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

Wanted somewhere quiet within easy reach of City Centre,The Thistle was a good choice being a 10 minute bus ride (anywhere in City is only £1.60 pp each way. Suited our needs perfectly and had a great sleep on a nice firm bed.

Reviewer:Mr. William M | Mon 23rd Jan 2017 | 3 years ago


good - Rating 4/5

good hotel for the trip

Reviewer:Yanbo Z | Sat 14th Jan 2017 | 3 years ago


Last minute booking - Rating 4/5

Was pleasantly surprised. Room was small but clean, bed was comfortable. Bathroom was just across the hall, also clean. Would recommend if you just want some place to put your head down. Good location, saw the Manager in the morning, also very pleasant.

Reviewer:Gary F | Wed 28th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Double en suite room - Rating 5/5

Room secured at really reasonable rate was immaculately clean, well fitted out and comfortable

Reviewer:Jeff C | Sat 17th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Great value! - Rating 5/5

Clean and tidy, great location near city center, pleasant hosts! Hope to come again!

Reviewer:Zoran S | Fri 16th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay for the economic business traveller - Rating 4/5

Great no fuss place to stay for business travel not complicated by time consuming breakfast or check in chat. Economic, but still good facilities- all you need when working in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. John B | Sat 10th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect alone esperience - Rating 5/5

It was a beautiful experience! Cleanliness, hospitality and kindness of the owner have been perfect! The location is really charming and typical, a total immersion in the Scottish world.

Reviewer:Marta Maria M | Tue 6th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Show trip Accommodation- Rating 4/5

Stayed here for night after a show. Great check-in/out system &information given. Room very clean, bed comfortable, furniture dated, but that's not important to us as we went forthe great valueon street parking &location. Wouldnt hesitate to book again.

Reviewer:Dawn B | Wed 30th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Great Place - Rating 4/5

We've stayed in the suite room. The room was very good, clean and wide, me and my wife were surprised how cozy was the place. The bathroom was simple, but did the job. Just 20m to city centre by the bus stop just a feel meters from the house.I really recommend.

Reviewer:Leandro B | Sun 27th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Competent - Rating 5/5

Small room,heater supplied,good bed.Clean &tidy.Next to bus stop.10 minute service to city.Single male.Out all day.Sorted.

Reviewer:Mr. George A | Sat 19th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Stay was ok, but crib missing - Rating 4/5

The hotel was very clean and it was great to have an ensuite bathroom.Unfortunately, even tho I emailed the hotel in advance, there was no crib for my 7 month old upon arrival. My son is a very active baby making it almost impossible to go to the toilet or have a shower because he will crawl everywhere, pulling wires etc. A crib would have been great to keep him safe. I wasn't able to contact the hotel personnel, because my phone broke down that day and I couldn't find any staff in the establishment as I arrived after 9pm.Besides that, the place is good.

Reviewer:KarlijnV | Thu 17th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Family room- Rating 4/5

I stayed here on the 11th of november with my partner and daughter, also two sisters.We all enjoyed our stay at the thistle edinburgh quest house.Was kept warm and clean, very usefull with our own keys.Would recommend here for a bed for a night or bed and breakfast. Not far away from shops or travel.

Reviewer:Colin P | Tue 15th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


wkend away - Rating 5/5

The area is close to the centre of the city.Loads of cafes and supermarkets close by.Plenty of room in the rooms a good place to rest your head for the next adventure of the day.Thank you and would be back again :)

Reviewer:Linda S | Mon 14th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Great accomadation - Rating 5/5

Excellent. Lovely clean an tidy rooms.

Reviewer:L | Sun 13th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Great accomadation - Rating 5/5

Excellent. Lovely clean an tidy rooms.

Reviewer:L | Sun 13th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


good basic accommodation - Rating 4/5

This was a good basic guest house. The room was clean and fresh. It provided everything it promised.

Reviewer:Helen T | Wed 9th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent accomodation - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely place to stay whether you're staying with family, friends or just as a couple. The rooms were spacious, nicely decorated and cleaned on a daily basis. The location was good and close to main attractions. I will definitely be staying here again if I visit Edinburgh another time.

Reviewer:Aisha S | Wed 2nd Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Class - Rating 5/5

Everything was all right, the place is nice, you will not regret staying in there

Reviewer:Sebastian S | Wed 28th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfectly Adequate - Rating 4/5

Fora budget accomodation , overnight stay , this place was perfectly adequate. Near to big Tescos, restaurants and pubs, opposite Leith links. Quiet and clean.

Reviewer:Rebecca C | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


nice place - Rating 4/5

Comfortable and quiet. Nice stay.

Reviewer:Jacques B | Tue 13th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Edinburgh thistle guest house - Rating 4/5

Thank you for a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The guest house was easily found and everything was well organised. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Reviewer:Anna D | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Positive+++ - Rating 4/5

Clean and confortable suite for a couple. 20 mt from bus stop and 10 minutes for the city center! Thanks a lotFab

Reviewer:Fabrizio Antonio T | Fri 9th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

I would highly recommend staying to anyone. We stayed for 2 nights and it was extremely clean comftable and spacious. I will definitely be back again.

Reviewer:Mr. Lee R | Mon 5th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Leith bliss. - Rating 4/5

Nice efficient hotel where I came &went with no fuss.Easy key entry once you have code and room key on desk in hall in envelope with your name.Stayed here several times.Bus stops adjacent with one every few minutes to city centre a 10/15 minute ride away.

Reviewer:Mr. George A | Fri 2nd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Recommended - Rating 4/5

Clean and quite good for short stay. Excellent location.

Reviewer:Paul K | Fri 2nd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


nice and clean hotel - Rating 4/5

not in the city centre, but in easy reach by buses. Clean, reasonably comfortable beds, everything provided for a short stay.

Reviewer:Cordula Dr. K | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Recommend - Rating 4/5

Pleasant stay clean and tidy internet very slow for work use

Reviewer:Paul K | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Comfortable, clean and excellent value. - Rating 5/5

The room was clean, tidy and very comfortable, everything we needed was provided including the en suite bathroom. Free WiFi helped us plan our days out. Definitely would stay again.

Reviewer:Claire B | Fri 29th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Cheap comfortable room near the center of the city - Rating 3/5

Cheap clean simple roomThe bathroom was not private this was the only annoying issue but the shared one was good provided with all the needs

Reviewer:Nesrine S | Wed 27th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Fantastic accommodation , very comfortable- Rating 5/5

Room 1 family room was very nice, very clean and very comfortable we was very happy with our stay.

Reviewer:Sarah L | Wed 27th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


My stay. - Rating 4/5

Enjoyable time, on a frequent bus route into/out of Edinburgh. My room was too small. No clean towel left on the day beforei left, apart from that, ok.

Reviewer:Paul M | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Stay for wedding - Rating 5/5

Guest house was spotless. Perfect for our stay of 5 adults,sharing 2 rooms. Would also be ideal for family.

Reviewer:Helen H | Sat 16th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


great location away from the capital with easy access - Rating 5/5

It was a slightly strange set up of getting into the room - entry codes and envelopes etc (seemed a little 007) But to be honest it worked well and the express check in and out was good. Not standing at the reception filling forms names etc etc. As for the hotel (Guest house) this wasstandard looking house in the middle of a terrace, but what great features the room had lovely decoratio, cieling rose, cornice and wooden curtains (Victorian shutters) and it was great. The only thing that did kinda lower the tone was the smell of wet dog in the room - and we didn't have a dog with us!!But location was great a short walk across the park to lieth town and the merchant quarter with excellent shops bars and restaurants. And again easy access to Edinburgh by bus, taxi and its a cheap way to travel with a family of 4 (No hefty parking fees in the city).All in all it was a great break, although we were there to visit the VFS (visa place) it was also satisfying to be able to relax in a great area and great hotel.

Reviewer:RICHARD B | Tue 5th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


All in all, pretty good! - Rating 4/5

Booking was a very seamless and well organised experience.The room was nice as was the area. The Wifi did seem a little flaky on my iPad but that's how it goes sometimes.Fully intend to come again. Thanks, Nick :-)

Reviewer:Nick G | Tue 5th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Good place.- Rating 4/5

Good place. Clean and good price. Parking outside handy as well.

Reviewer:Alexa W | Fri 1st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

Very clean and quiet, very good for the price

Reviewer:Katia I | Sun 26th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Happy of Nairn - Rating 4/5

This was a good place to stay.

Reviewer:Rosemary P | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


nice stay- Rating 4/5

We had a good time with a great view in the back

Reviewer:Elke W | Thu 16th Jun 2016 | 4 years ago


Self-Service Hostel! - Rating 4/5

It was a bit strange to let myself in and collect my key and not see anybody. It could have been the beginning of a scary movie. But all I needed was a bed for the night and that's what I got, with a small en-suite. When I turned the light on the extractor fan (I'm assuming that's what it was) made a loud grinding noise, until I turned the light off again. I didn't use the TV but I imagine it worked. Perhaps £29 was a bit over-priced, I'd say £20 would be a fairer deal, but I did book last minute, perhaps you can cheaper deals earlier. I slept well though and that was the most important thing for me. There was plenty of parking space in front of and behind East Hermitage Place and opposite the guest house is Leith Links which was beautiful in the sunny weather.

Reviewer:Laura S | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 4 years ago


Nice guest house - Rating 4/5

Nice and clean, with free road side parking. Will book again.

Reviewer:Chok Chin L | Tue 7th Jun 2016 | 4 years ago


Nice place to stay in - Rating 5/5

Nice and pleasant place to stay I was there 3 days The guest house was very clean I reccomend to stay there

Reviewer:Krzysztof J | Wed 25th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Good guest house - Rating 5/5

Nice little guest house. Very clean and very quiet. Only thing lacking was no staff around after 11 in the morning.

Reviewer:Georgie B | Fri 13th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Good Value - Rating 4/5

Room was clean and the bed comfortable. Only one issue, the toilet / shower room was a little small. I was given what appeared to be a family room which was very spacious. For what the 3 night stay cost, no complaints from me. I didn't eat at the guest house and didn't really meet any of the staff, but would happily stay here again. There is ample on road parking and I had no trouble parking right outside the Guest House. Free internet also worked well.

Reviewer:Richard C | Fri 13th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Clean and Friendly - Rating 4/5

A nice nights stay in a very comfy bed!

Reviewer:Oliver K | Wed 11th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Basic. Good value. - Rating 4/5

Key safe check-in. The 2 single beds were comfy and clean. The rest of the room and bathroom could have been cleaner. Tea/coffe making facilities, hairdryer available. Quiet. Electric shower was rubbish, heated up to roasting then went cold.Good value for money. Half an hours drive to airport.

Reviewer:Lesley J | Mon 9th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Everything fine- Rating 5/5

The room was comfortable, clean and a good location. Thanks to the manager.

Reviewer:Fiona B | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 4 years ago


Basic accommodation for basic price - Rating 3/5

If your looking for a cheap night in Edinburgh with minimal frills but clean presentation and offer then this is it. Note the hard bed and minimal service but very low price to match

Reviewer:KevinF | Sun 24th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


One night stay April - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable nights stay. Very handy location and easy to get parked.

Reviewer:Jeff C | Wed 13th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


review - Rating 3/5

good value for money

Reviewer:RonaldP | Mon 11th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


recommendation - Rating 5/5

Very nice, quiet, clean place not far from the city center, close to the park :) I honestly recommend this Guest House as a perfect place to stay in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Izabella B | Sat 9th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


Neat and clean- Rating 4/5

Great place to stay, neat and clean rooms.

Reviewer:Shoaib R | Sat 9th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


Spotless - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely night at this very pleasant guest house, very comfortable and very clean, will definately be back.

Reviewer:Barbara M | Sun 20th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Awesome- Rating 5/5

The stay was very pleasant, all insructions in emails and guest house were easy to follow. The guest house itself was very clean and tidy, the room which we stayed in was immaculate, on suite was excellent and again clean tidy and well maintained, the bed and room furniture was extremely nice the bed itself was very comfy as so were the pillows and quilt. Payment as we were leaving was easy and the chap who dealt with us was very polite and welcomming. Will definately book and stay again next time we head to edinburgh. Thank you for a lovely warm welcomey pleasant stay. P.s only thing that bothered me was that the sign on canopy above the entrance does need renewing. Other than everhgthing was fantastic from booking to checking in and checking out

Reviewer:Barry B | Mon 22nd Feb 2016 | 4 years ago


Amazing deal and great room - Rating 5/5

The easy late check in is amazing as getting your key and going straight to your room is very straightforward, the room we stayed in was very nice and clean and well decorated with handy leaflets and tourist guides, me and my fiancé enjoyed are stay very much and the owner was lovely and we were in no rush to leave in the morning! Excellent guest house

Reviewer:Chloe H | Mon 15th Feb 2016 | 4 years ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Good value we stayed room onlyClean and good sized room all we neededFree parking on street and number 25 bus runs every 15 min to princes streetBy using car we saved nearly £16 on train faresRecommended

Reviewer:BRYAN M | Sun 31st Jan 2016 | 4 years ago


excellent - Rating 4/5

Quiet. ....clean and comfortable.

Reviewer:Andy J | Sun 17th Jan 2016 | 4 years ago


Nice guest house near city center - Rating 3/5

+ Silence Room, Park for the car free, Position, Public transport near.- Little bathroom

Reviewer:DonatoP | Mon 28th Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


Rooms - Rating 4/5

Single bed room was very smal but clean and tydee, everything was in there:an iron, hair dryer, big mirror, comfortable bad, small tv. The shared bathroom was big and beautiful. Friendly service. Good to reach, bus stop almost in front of the huest house. Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Gordana B | Wed 23rd Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


Small, cozy but great - Rating 5/5

Quiet, very warm, an excellent bargain.

Reviewer:DIMITRIOS G | Wed 25th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Working nearby - Rating 4/5

I can honestly say that the Thistle Guest House is spotlessly clean and very warm. The staff are friendly. My only complaint is that the hand wash basin plug does not work and therefore I cannot have a proper wash in the mornings.

Reviewer:George Henry T | Sat 21st Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Very cosy \'cupboard\' :D - Rating 4/5

I stayed last minute in this B&B, very easy entry system at any time during the day, clean room although very small. It did feel a bit like sleeping in the cupboard but it was very cosy and warm and it has all you need for a quick stay in Edinburgh. The shared bathroom was very clean and tidy. Very friendly receptionist. Overall a lovely stay :) I would come back!

Reviewer:Carolina D | Wed 18th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Cosy - Rating 4/5

The Thistle Guest house is in very calm location. Nicely furbished and richly equipped room with comfortable bed.Only thing which felt a bit strange is that there is no reception. The place is like your flat(room if shared bathroom) and your key is waiting on a cupboard behind a door. Very unusual. Maybe because of that there is also extreme amount of rules written everywhere. But overall, It was very nice stay.

Reviewer:Lukáš V | Sat 14th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Comfortable budget accommodation - Rating 4/5

Stayed at this guest house with a friend when we were attending a party in Edinburgh. Perfect for our needs which was to have a room in that vicinity. Clean room, comfy beds, small and simple but everything worked and an absolute bargain.

Reviewer:Rona M | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Very good B & B. - Rating 4/5

Comfortable and convenient.

Reviewer:Nicola H | Sun 8th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Fantastic few nights - Rating 4/5

I stayed here 26th October 2015 with my mam and my grandma, we were pleasantly surprised at how lovely this guest house was. Rooms clean and comfortable, and everything you need i.e. en suite, iron and ironing board, tv etc. You get what you pay for, we think the price for the family room was very reasonable so we weren't expecting the Ritz, but as long as it was clean and comfortable we were happy. would definitely stay here again xx

Reviewer:Heidi Laing| Thu 5th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

Positives:Easy access for checking in and checking out. Lovely staff. Generously spaced and comfortable room.Negatives:The room did get a bit hot as we couldn't keep the window open at night as there was a bad smell coming from a neighbouring property. Not overly noticeable unless the window was open for an extended period.

Reviewer:Jennai S | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Made the most of it, otherwise! - Rating 4/5

Apart from having to share the bathroom/toilet, a good experience............

Reviewer:Ayaz S | Wed 9th Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Sunshine on leith. ... - Rating 4/5

Great place for easy trips to the centre o old reakie....andd a nice we walk ...

Reviewer:David A | Mon 7th Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


very comfy room - Rating 4/5

Surprisingly comfy room for a guest house. A little over priced but prob a lying because it was fringe week. Thanks for a pleasant nights stay

Reviewer:Steven B | Thu 27th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Nice room, nice location - Rating 4/5

I booked a single room over the internet and requested to be allowed to book in early which I was allowed to do with keys being ready for me when I arrived after driving up from Derby for a Funeral. The room was very neat and tidy with all I required incl tea/coffee making facilities, good shower and comfy bed. I decided to leave early but again this was not a problem, keys were left in a secure drop box. Would recommend this B and B to anyone visiting Edinburgh. The park directly opposite the house was large and great for a walk in the sunshine, which h thankfully it was shining that day.

Reviewer:Robert A | Wed 19th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Room was clean and tidy and had all the facilities we needed for a quick overnight stay

Reviewer:Steven L | Thu 2nd Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Perfect Start for our round trip - Rating 5/5

Our three days at the Thistle Guest House marked the perfect start for our 14 days round trip through Scotland! Dean and his family made us feel more than welcome! Thanks a lot!

Reviewer:Gabriele K | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Charming house! - Rating 5/5

It is a very cosy place to stay! I felt like I stayed an old English house:) Thank you!

Reviewer:Zeynep K | Sun 31st May 2015 | 5 years ago


Nice - Rating 5/5

We only used our room for sleeping, it was nice, clean and friendly. The area is nice and we found parking very easy. Also the bus was right out front. It was exactly what I expected. Small nice clean room.

Reviewer:DON B | Fri 29th May 2015 | 5 years ago


wonderful- Rating 5/5

Best place to stay in Edinburgh, cosy,clean, cheap,:-)Really everything is perfect,

Reviewer:Johnny P | Tue 19th May 2015 | 5 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Room clean with complete small bathroom, very quiet.Near a bus stop and 10 mn of the edinburgh castleFree parkingVery friendly

Reviewer:Agnes R | Sun 17th May 2015 | 5 years ago


Amazing, - Rating 5/5

Everything is perfect, only the check out time should be up to noon.Thank you!

Reviewer:Johnny P | Sat 16th May 2015 | 5 years ago


very good holiday - Rating 4/5

very good b&b, recommended!

Reviewer:Gian Piero F | Tue 5th May 2015 | 5 years ago


excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent, very clean, excellent service, very good price, very friendly staff, close to the centre

Reviewer:ELEFTHERIOS G | Fri 17th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


Great, low cost base for Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

On street parking, right outside was a bonus but no difficulty finding parking spaces. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly. Bus into Edinburgh (25) stopped 30 meters from the front door and a day ticket (GBP 3.50) gave us lots of freedom to explore.

Reviewer:James C | Sun 12th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


I like the surroundings - Rating 4/5

I like the garden across the road

Reviewer:Shimeng S | Thu 9th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


good quality & cost ratio - Rating 4/5

the house was good, had a parking in the street available and old town could be reached by 30min walking. the apartment was next to a park. the only thing we did not like was the curtains, they were very thin so all the light was coming in. Nevertheless, the cost of a stay was a good bargain and therefore we would stay there again.

Reviewer:Asta M | Wed 8th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


enjoyable stayed! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed ..ThanksPrincessElizabeth.

Reviewer:Princess E | Thu 2nd Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 4/5

great place to stay I would recommend and come again

Reviewer:Juckson K | Thu 12th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


excellent location, room and value for money - Rating 4/5

Booked a double room and kindly given q family room as they had it free and wanted to give the best possible room . Very clean. Spacious and well fitted out with all needed for an enjoyable stay. Excellent location with plentyof on road parking and 2 minutes walk from 12 or 25 bus to the city centre.

Reviewer:Matthew P | Sun 22nd Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


GOOD - Rating 4/5

it's good and worth the money,but quite far from city center.

Reviewer:Gaohao L | Tue 17th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


2 night break - Rating 5/5

Brilliant stay would definitely recommend you

Reviewer:Michelle W | Sun 8th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


good - Rating 4/5

A very good stay for the price ,and i would stay again.

Reviewer:Paul C | Sat 20th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Satisfied - Rating 5/5

Im satisfied with my stay. Im surprise that no body was there to assist me and its a kind of weird at first but i realised that everything is prepared and ready andClean as well. I like the idea, i felt I'm home. Hehe. Will recommend this to other friends.

Reviewer:Ely E | Wed 10th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


au - Rating 3/5

very nice and clean and simple,and the people that work is very nice

Reviewer:Aurellano Canepa Efax 4 Nov| Tue 9th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Thistle - Rating 5/5

Nice hotel, clean, warm, ok shower with lots of hot water, comfy bed (if a bit squeaky ;-)) easy access to the bus route. VERY reasonable price. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Chris H | Sun 30th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Great wee B&B - Rating 5/5

Central, spotlessly clean, friendly staff, and a really great price for Edinburgh. We'd definately stay again :-))

Reviewer:Eileen C | Sun 23rd Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Edinburgh Thistle Guest House - Rating 4/5

I had a pleasant stay here. The room I had was small, but clean and comfortable. It was easy to walk to town, or there is a bus stop very near, and the Leith links park is across the street. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Ellen M D | Sat 22nd Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Pleasant - Rating 4/5

I enjoyed my stay here. There were some problems such as having to phone to get told where the key was which was rather complicated and if someone didnt have aphone on them would be very frustrating. Quite a small room but excellent value for money and nice location next to leith links park. Would return

Reviewer:Chloe H | Tue 14th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


Nice - Rating 4/5

Comfortable, clean. Difficult to find (bus 25 from Princes street)

Reviewer:Maryna D | Sat 27th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Edinburgh thistle guesthouse - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable stay at this guesthouse. Clean, tidy and very comfortable bed. Will definately stay again!

Reviewer:Valerie L | Tue 16th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Mr. - Rating 4/5

A good place to stay in

Reviewer:Hong Y | Thu 11th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Relaxed and Splendid - Rating 5/5

I had a wonderful and relaxed time at the hotel with a brilliant view on the city park.Thank you indeed

Reviewer:Van De L | Fri 5th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


2nd September 2014.Single room - Rating 3/5

Single room very small however clean , tv , tea and coffee and wifi. So really all I needed and parking across the street was free also 25 mins walking distance to city centre or bus stop across the street. Basic but perfect for what I needed and I would stay again as price was very reasonable

Reviewer:Nicola D | Tue 2nd Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


We've got a nice stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely people and love place. A bit far from the city center, but a good choice if you need to park your car...

Reviewer:Albert M | Sun 27th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Will return - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, lovely room and excellent location for checking out Edinburgh. Only downside was the shower-hardly any water pressure so it wasn't much more than a trickle at times. Breakfast was plentiful and well worth it, even for a continental breakfast.

Reviewer:Sally L | Thu 24th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Quiet little guest house, highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Had a brilliant stay at Edinburgh Thistle. Me &my friend booked a single room each &both were clean &tidy. Beds were comfy &the shared bathroom was also kept clean.The guest house is based near the bottom of Easter Road in Leith so you're not far from the city centre &it's not a long bus journey if you don't fancy the walk.Really loved my stay here!

Reviewer:Lucy M | Tue 22nd Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Cheerful stay - Rating 4/5

I had a comfortablepleasant overnight stay. Plenty of on street no hastle parking always a bonus in Edinburgh. I parked my car on street went into town came back carried on woth my journey Great .

Reviewer:Roman B | Wed 9th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Perfect Location - Rating 4/5

Found this very convenient for my stay very cheap compared to others, room was basic but very clean and tidy but for what i paid for two nights i am very happy and will use again...

Reviewer:David W | Thu 3rd Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Good location - Rating 4/5

Good location to explore Edinburgh as well as Leith harbour.Nice rooms and easy late night arrival proceedings.Outer appearance of guest could be better.

Reviewer:Andrea K | Thu 3rd Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


city break - Rating 4/5

close to city very convenient base for sight seeing small but comfortable single room very good value

Reviewer:Stephen H | Tue 1st Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Good Remark - Rating 4/5

I'd like to thank you folks for the short, but enjoyable time I had. Unfortunately, there was a little time left for going around the town, but it was a unforgettable and explendid guesthouse, you have. Very tidy,comfortable, and an excelent view on the park outside.

Reviewer:Van De L | Sun 22nd Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


thank you- Rating 5/5

thank you for a good weekeand the place was good and clean you was so help fall over the weekend we will come bsck to you all all the the best peter and margert

Reviewer:Margaret C | Mon 16th Jun 2014 | 6 years ago


very good - Rating 3/5

For the price it is a good deal. Very clean and wifi works well. Room tiny but comfortable.

Reviewer:William S | Wed 11th Jun 2014 | 6 years ago


Long weekend - Rating 3/5

Nice place, reasonable price

Reviewer:Annamaria A | Tue 10th Jun 2014 | 6 years ago


very good - Rating 4/5

it was very nice! thank you for everything

Reviewer:Christian T | Mon 9th Jun 2014 | 6 years ago


Good hotel for this price - Rating 4/5

Good hotel. Quiet, clean, not expensive. Only there is a little space and absence of bathroom in the room for one person. But there is clean and good bathroom in the hotel.

Reviewer:Evgeny P | Mon 26th May 2014 | 6 years ago


very good place! - Rating 5/5

we have a lovely stay at Edinburgh Thistle Guest House. The room was very clean, comfortable and well located.

Reviewer:Evelyn B | Mon 12th May 2014 | 6 years ago


Value for Money - Rating 0/5

This a nice simple value for money guest house. Well located for access to the City Centre.

Reviewer:Sean C | Mon 12th May 2014 | 6 years ago


Clean friendly and good location - Rating 4/5

A clean place to stay, with car parking and very close links to the busses.If you just want somewhere to park the car and sleep I don't think you will find better for the price in Edinburgh.One note is that some rooms are up 1pr 2 flights of narrow stairs - but we managed even with some walking difficulties.Another point to note that the bathrooms are not large - but do have everything you need.We will likely be back again.

Reviewer:Vanessa B | Sun 4th May 2014 | 6 years ago


Worth every penny - Rating 4/5

This is not a 4 or 5 star establishment but for the money I paid I have no complaints. The room was clean and freshly decorated, tea/coffee making faclilities, en-suite room supplied with clean towels and toiletries. Central location to most attractions in Edinburgh and overlooking Leith Links park that was ideal for an early morning stroll. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short stop over in Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Alister R | Mon 21st Apr 2014 | 6 years ago


Lovely, homely accommodation - Rating 5/5

Exactly what my friend and I were looking for, just outside the Edinburgh city centre so we got some peace and quiet, but close enough to walk to with ease, FANTASTIC staff, and the rooms and the entire hotel itself was just so comfortable.

Reviewer:Viranga W | Sat 12th Apr 2014 | 6 years ago


good job guys!!! - Rating 5/5

friendly staff and I just can't wait to come back

Reviewer:Dorin Alexandru C | Sun 16th Mar 2014 | 6 years ago


great olace - Rating 4/5

found this guest house really good beds nice clean breakfast was great for the money would defo go back again

Reviewer:Carolyn R | Sun 16th Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


good - Rating 5/5

2 night weekend stay. Clean room, TV, wifi and shower worked well.Very good value for money.Will be booking again when on course next time.

Reviewer:Eilidh M | Sun 17th Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


Good value and good transport links - Rating 4/5

The guest house offers very good value, including a cheery welcome and a substantial continental breakfast.The 35 bus runs directly from the airport to within a short distance of the guest house and there are at least eight different buses that can take you to the City Centre, in a few minutes.The 3.50 day ticket covers this and the journey from the airport by the 35.The room was large for a single and was nicely decorated.Leith is very close to the city centre and the guest house would be my first choice.There is just one bathroom and toilet for thethree? rooms without private facilities and I might choose an upgrade in the future, for this reason.However I was very satisfied.

Reviewer:Richard P | Sun 10th Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent stay... - Rating 5/5

Its nice and calm place...everything fine and nothing happened during our stay in Thislte guest house Edinburgh...love to stay again....

Reviewer:Mr. Upul S | Tue 5th Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

Nice and good rooms for the Price

Reviewer:Per B | Tue 29th Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


my stay at edinburgh thistle guest house. - Rating 5/5

I am pleased to have stayed at the Edinburgh thistle guest house,it was a clean tidy and quiet place,i stayed only one night on this occasion but will not hesitate to book here again should i need accommodation in edinburgh in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul L | Mon 19th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Enjoyed My Stay - Rating 5/5

Good location, cooperative staff and owner, very well maintained and clean place. Shower in shared bathrooms was bit tricky. En suit washrooms were good comfort. Overall it was a nice stay

Reviewer:Tahir S | Mon 17th Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


all round comfy experience. - Rating 3/5

we had all the basics required for our needs and also was in a great location so we could do some sight seeing too.staff were very helpful and over all was a good experience.

Reviewer:Imran S | Mon 3rd Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


Edinburgh Thistle GH - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay with this guest house, the staff were friendly, helpful and very understanding, especially since I have a disability. The room was clean and more than adequate with good facilities and the location was very central. I would recommend this guest house to other people without hesitation.

Reviewer:Mr. Lee F | Sun 2nd Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


Edinburgh Festival - Rating 5/5

We found the keys on the table, so first thought was very well organised.We loved the room (room2), very different from the bog standard premier inn. Very Clean. Extremely comfy bed.One tiny problem was that it was a little difficult to find a nice temperature in the shower.But we loved our time there, really easy to get to town, really nice manager who really looked after us.

Reviewer:Alex L | Fri 24th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


5 stars - Rating 5/5

Very friendly house, with all that you need to stay a couple of nights. All the staff was very kind. 10 minutes away from city center... it worth...

Reviewer:Vasco R | Tue 14th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


Good room - great price - Rating 4/5

Appreciated the 'express check-in service' - very useful.Room clean and modern and staff friendly. Only criticism was that there was no hot water for a shower.Overall it was excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Gordon P | Thu 9th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


Exellent - Rating 5/5

The Room was exellent!!

Reviewer:Simone R | Fri 27th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Good nights - Rating 4/5

We had a nice time for 2 nights with our family. The room was charmy (creative solution for toilet and shower) and we could recover perfectly.Breakfast is good continental style and sufficient. Music for breakfast is very relaxing.Walking distance to Calton Hill is 30 Minutes and bus stop iswihtin 100 yards. Good stay for a trip at a reasonable price.

Reviewer:Thomas K | Sun 22nd Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Good stay. - Rating 4/5

Stayed there a few times so must be good.Free parking in street,buses at door and shops nearby.What more do you need.And for a cooked breakfast at great price The Foot of The Walk pub is 5mins walk.

Reviewer:George A | Thu 19th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Easy reach - Rating 5/5

Nicely separate from town, away from the hustle and bustle, yet within easy reach of the city centre (10 mins by transport). A pleasure to stay there. Will be happy to again.

Reviewer:Keith A | Mon 2nd Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


5 Star all round - Rating 5/5

A Wonderful atmosphere at the thistle guest house with the added bonus of a beauty salon in house. I enjoyed a selection of treatments at very good value for money and will be stopping in on my next trip. Very friendly, helpful staff make you feel at home.Highly recommend it for a stress free stay.

Response

Hi Suzie, thank you for your lovely review!! Hope uv settled into ur new flat.See you soon for your next appointment :-)

Reviewer:Suzie M | Mon 25th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


Very good hotel - Rating 5/5

Very good hotel, super location

Reviewer:Elena P | Mon 18th Jun 2012 | 8 years ago


Nice people, nice hotel - Rating 5/5

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the location.Everything lovely and staff very friendly.Great price

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Hope to see you again. :-)

Reviewer:Cathie C | Mon 11th Jun 2012 | 8 years ago


hotel- Rating 4/5

Good location , comfortable

Reviewer:Mr. Prasert R | Tue 8th May 2012 | 8 years ago


Very Goog. - Rating 4/5

Una estancia buena, recomendable.

Reviewer:Mr. Fernando Masia R | Sat 7th Apr 2012 | 8 years ago


A one night stay was quite good - Rating 4/5

I stayed here for one night. It was quite lovely and very homely environment. Peaceful and I could sleep well. The only thing was thatI was refused for an extra one-hour stay in the room (as per 10 am check-out time). I would have loved it as i had a long tiring journey a night before. Didn't try breakfast, so cant say about that. Overall, it was clean and very hygienic. I would recommend.

Reviewer:Miss. Ashi C | Sat 31st Mar 2012 | 8 years ago


fine - Rating 4/5

everything fine, nice room

Reviewer:Anika G | Fri 30th Sep 2011 | 8 years ago


Great vacation for us - Rating 4/5

Very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were tidy and comfortable. The keys enabled us to come and go with no problems at all. Beds were nice and warm. Thanks a lot! :)

Reviewer:Jukka N | Mon 29th Aug 2011 | 8 years ago


We felt comfortable - Rating 5/5

It was a great stay. Very friendly and welcoming. We were fully satisfied. The descriptions apply to the guesthouse.A nice guesthouse to feel good.

Reviewer:Meinhert M | Tue 26th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


good. - Rating 4/5

the lady is really nice and the room is really worthy the price.

Reviewer:Nana Li| Sun 17th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

As we arrived before check in time, the staff were very helpful in catering us. Could not ask for better from the staff and they were lovely and friend. Guesthouse is small but cosy and spotless and perfect for what we needed. Would 100% recommend to other people and will definately be returning.Thanks to the staff for all their help and kindness :)Anita

Reviewer:Anita D | Fri 15th Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


EDINBURGH THISTLE GUEST HOUSE - Rating 4/5

A TRADITIONAL OLD HOTEL WITH EVERYTHING NEW INSIDE, VERY COSY, VERY WELL SITUATED AND BUILT, GOOD SERVICE, CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTRE. I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO COUPLES WITHOUT ANY HESITATION, AS WELL AS THOSE WHO LOVE NATURE AND TRADITIONAL BUILDINGS. EVERYTHING WAS GREAT.

Reviewer:EFTHYMIA A | Sat 2nd Jul 2011 | 8 years ago


recommendation - Rating 4/5

everything is ok except the breakfast. We ask to have it at 8am, but the room was closed. We are left without taking it.

Reviewer:PIERRE-EMMANUEL B | Wed 22nd Jun 2011 | 8 years ago


accomodation review - Rating 4/5

Had Room 7 and found both the hotel environment and its position within edinburgh to my liking. Also, as a traveller booking just days out I found sophie to be excellent in allowing myself to have flexible dates. Thank you had a great time.

Reviewer:Robert S | Wed 1st Jun 2011 | 9 years ago


Nice place to be. - Rating 4/5

God Hotel in a great city!

Reviewer:Manuel I | Sun 24th Apr 2011 | 9 years ago